List of Public Holidays of Nepal 2077 (2020/2021)

Government of Nepal has published the holidays calendar for the year 2077 BS ( 2020/2021).This is the official deceleration of Government of Nepal about the Government holidays in Nepal.  

1.There are total 51 Saturdays

Baishakh 6, 7, 20, 27
Jestha 3, 10, 17, 24, 31
Ashadh 6, 13, 20, 27
Sharwan 3, 10, 17, 24, 31
Bhadra 6, 13, 20, 27
Ashoj 3, 10, 17, 24
Kartik 1,8, 15, 22, 29
Mangsir 6, 13, 20, 27
Poush 4, 11, 18, 25
Magh 3, 10, 17, 24
Falgun 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
Chaitra 7, 14, 21, 28

2. Festival Holidays in 2077 BS

New Year: Baishakh 1, Monday
MahaShivaRatri: Falgun 27, Thursday
Fagu Purnima (58 Districts of Pahad & Bhitri Madhesh) :Chaitra 15, Sunday
Remaining following districts on Chaitra 16, (Monday Jhapa, Morang, Sunari, Saptari, Siraha, Udayapur, Dhanusa, Mahhotari, Sarlahi, Rautahat, Bara, Parsa, Nawalparasi, Rupandehi, Kapilvastu, Dang, Banke, Bardiya, Kailali, Kanchanpur)

3. Holidays for the civil servant representing specific religion or culture

Ubhauli Festival (Chandi Purnima) of Kirat, Rai, Limbu : Baisakh 25, Thursday
Gaura Festival: Bhadra 10, Wednesday
Eid for people following Muslim Religion (Eid al-Fitr)
Chhath Festival: Mangshir 5, Friday
Bakar Eid for people following Muslim Religion
Christmas Day for people following Christian religion: Poush 10, Friday
Kirati’s Udhaulai Festival, Yomari Punhi-Jyapu Diwas, (Mangsir Purnima, Dhanya Purnima) Tamu Lhosar: Poush 15, Wednesday
Maghe Sakranti and Maghi Festival: Magh 1, Thursday
Sonam Lhosar: Magh 30, Friday
Gyalpo Lhosar (For indigineous people of Himal and Sherpa): Chaitra 1, Sunday
Siruwapawani Festival for Jhapa, Morang, Sunsari, Siraha and Saptari.
Dhavathambu festival in the related Govardhan Puja, districts

4. Female Employees only

Haritalika (Teej): Bhadra 5 (Friday)
Jitiya Festival: Bhadra 25 Thursday(for women employee who celebrates Jitiya festival)

5.Education Institutions only

Basant Panchami: Falgun 4 (Tuesday)

6. Jatra Holidays (Kathmandu Valley Only)

Gaijatra: Sharwan 30 (Tuesday)
Indrajatra: Bhadra 16 (Tuesday)
Machhandra Nath ko Voto Dekhaune Jatra
Ghode Jatra: Chaitra 29 (Sunday)

7. Dashain Holidays

Kartik 7 Friday to Kartik 11 Wednesday (From Fulpati to Ekadashi)

8. Tihar Holidays

a. Laxmi Puja: Kartik 29 (Saturday)

b. Mha Puja : Kartik 30 (Sunday) c. Govardhan Puja, Bhai Tika, Nepal Sambat: Kartik 12 (Tuesday)

9. Diwas (Day) Holiday: All over Nepal

May Day (May 1): Baishakh 19 (Friday)
Constitution Day (Rastriya Diwas): Ashoj 3 (Saturday)
International Woman Day (March 8): Falgun 24 (Monday)
For People with disabilities on International Day of Disabled Persons (December 3): Mangsir 18, Thursday (For employees working within Nepal only)

10. Birthday Holiday:

1.Public anniversary holidays for all across the country: Buddha Jayanti, Baisakh 25 Thursday

2. For the concerned religions only:

(A) Falgunanda Jayanti,Kartik 25 Tuesday(Kirant fanatics).

(B) Guru Nanak Jayanti,Mangshir 15 Monday(Nepali Sikh religion).

11. Nationally celebrated but office opening days:
(A) Republic Day, Jeth 15 Thursday.

(B) Ethnic discrimination and untouchability eradication national Day, Jeth 21 Wednesday.

(C) Civil Service Day, Monday, 22 Monday.

(D) National Solidarity Day, 27 Poush, Monday.

(E) Martyrdom Day, Magh 16, Friday.

(F) National Democracy Day, 7 Falgun, Friday.

The Nepalese mission located abroad are public in the respective countries.
They can even manage and adjust the public holidays for up to 18 days depending on the holidays.

Ministries, departments and offices providing hospital and emergency services such as hospital, ropeway, telephone, police, immigration, police station, outpost, fire brigade, tuxar, radio Nepal, Nepal television, printing department, postal, etc. should work even on public holidays. Whereas, in order to prevent the day-to-day work in such offices, there is a need for concession of the prevailing law, rather than to leave the office.

Attendance & departure time:
(A) All Government Offices across the State of Nepal

Office hours will be

10:00 am to 5:00 pm, from 1 st Baishakh to 15 Kartik and 16 Magh to end of Chaitra

10:00am to 4:00pm, from 16 Kartik to 15 Magh.

(B) Every Friday from 10:00 am to 3:00 pm

Note: “Half a day” should be 3 months from 16 Kartik to 15 Magh, at 1 pm

and from 16 Magh to 15 Kartik 1:30 pm.

Add caption

Leave a Comment